Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

My Promise to You by Cristina Cole


I’ll swaddle you up so you feel safe
I’ll give you kisses so you know you’re loved
I’ll sing you songs because it soothes your soul
I’ll hug you tightly so you feel secure
I’ll tickle your tummy because it makes you laugh
I’ll rock you gently so you feel calm
I’ll pick you up when you reach for me
I’ll hold my pinky out for you to grab

I’ll tell you every day how much you’re loved
I’ll hold your gaze for as long as you stare at me
I’ll whisper little poems in your ear
I’ll stroke the top of your head when you’re sleepy
I’ll put my cheek next to yours and hum a lullaby
I’ll watch you fall asleep until I know you’re in dreamland
I’ll lie next to you when you’re feeling icky
I’ll listen to your baby babble all day long

I’ll have a band aid ready for scrapes and bruises
I’ll hold both your hands when you’re learning how to walk
I’ll gladly push you on the swing at the park
I’ll wait at the bottom of the slide to catch you
I’ll lift you up so you can reach the monkey bars
I’ll hold your hand when we cross the street
I’ll teach you the abc’s and 123’s
I’ll walk you to the door on your first day of school

I’ll always be here to offer free hugs and kisses
I’ll always be ready to listen to your thoughts
I’ll try my best to remember what it’s like to be a kid
I’ll try my best to remember what it’s like to be a teen
I’ll try my best to remember what it’s like to fall in love for the first time
I’ll try my best to remember what it’s like to be bullied
I’ll try my best to remember what it’s like to feel overwhelmed
I’ll try my best to think about what it’s like to be in your shoes

I promise to do my very best in raising you
I apologize in advance for the times I screw up
I want to be perfect for you, but all I can do is try
So I promise to try my best

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Cristina Cole

2 comments on “My Promise to You by Cristina Cole

  1. Crystal
    January 11, 2013

    Omg, amazing. You brought tears to my eyes.

    • cristinacole23
      January 11, 2013

      Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2013 by in Poems and tagged , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

