Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

Say It Out Loud by Cristina Cole


Before I gave birth to my precious son
I heard stories from so many women about labor
Some sounded easy and reassuring, others were horror stories
Nonetheless, I went into it expecting the worst and it wasn’t so bad

When asked what my “plans” were, I responded with: “to feel the least amount of pain”
Some women made me feel weak for accepting an epidural
I would tell them that I don’t need to be a hero
I’m already carrying a child and delivering them into the world
I think that’s heroic enough

What I wish more women told me about was after the birth
No one prepares you for the aftermath:
Especially the emotions you feel

I feel like it’s my responsibility to say it out loud:
How you feel after birth is NORMAL
You’re not crazy, you’re hormonal
You’re doing amazing
You’re a good mother
It’s okay that you cry a lot
It’s okay that you’re absolutely terrified
It’s going to get easier… a little every day

Talk about it!
Tell your best friend how you’re feeling
Tell your husband, your mother, your mother-in-law
The minute you say it out loud, you get a response that shocks you
They’ll giggle and tell you not to worry
They’ll say it’s normal to feel like you’re losing your mind in the first couple of weeks
Especially after having your first child, you don’t know what to expect

When I got that same response from everyone I spoke to
I was almost angry – why didn’t anyone tell me?
When you hear horror stories about post partum depression
You immediately think: Oh my goodness it’s happening to me
Then you silently go crazy and feel so alone

Why don’t more women talk about those first couple of weeks?
A little warning would have been wonderful!
I already forgot about the birth and the pregnancy
I’ll NEVER forget how scared I was in those first couple of weeks
I went from being pregnant and pampered by everyone around me
To being sleep deprived, hormonal and needed 24 hours a day
No wonder some women suffer an emotional breakdown!
I’m lucky and grateful that I didn’t slip into post partum depression
But if I didn’t pick up the phone and talk about what I was feeling
And ask a lot of questions, I may well have

I know so many women who are mothers
They all make it look so easy
I view them as super moms
When you have a baby, you aspire to be that perfect wife and mother
So feeling those scary and raw emotions of fear and anxiety after birth
Makes that vision seem impossible
You feel like you’ll never be a good mother if you feel this way
That’s how the cycle begins, and continues if you don’t talk about it

Now that I’m over a month in… and hormones have finally settled
Life is wonderful!
So I’m proof that it does get better
Those scary feelings go away and every day is an adventure
Every day you get more confident in your abilities as a new mother
Every day you feel happier and can look forward to more beautiful days ahead
So hang in there
And talk about what you’re feeling WITHOUT shame or embarrassment
You’re a good mother
You’re doing amazing
Hang in there because every day gets easier

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Cristina Cole

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2013 by in Poems, Tough Stuff and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

