Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

How Our Bedtime Routine Came About


For the first month, in the evenings Jacob would usually start crying around 6pm, and it wouldn’t stop until about 11pm. I would dread the evenings because they were total chaos. His loud shrieks would send me into desperation. I needed quiet. I needed to breathe. I needed to find out how to make him stop crying or I’d go crazy.

The doctor pretty much told me to tough it out because there wasn’t much that could be done. She explained that in the first few months, a baby’s digestive system is still developing so after all the feedings in the day, gas can build up and give them a tummy ache in the evening. She suggested a warm bath and massage to relax his muscles. At least it was something I could try.

Shhh! Can You Hear That? It’s Silence!

The second I put Jacob in the warm water the crying stopped. Silence. Beautiful, merciful, wonderful silence. After letting him soak for about ten minutes I took him out. I laid him on a fluffy blanket and began to massage him with baby oil. Then he peed on me. I learned to diaper him first and then massage him.

He was so calm. I massaged and massaged. As I was gently rubbing his belly, our blissful and quiet time together was interrupted by the sound of trumpets. That’s what his farts sounded like, music to my ears – my baby was getting some relief.

I noticed he was getting sleepy. So I put him in his jammies and gave him a bottle. While burping him he was starting to fall asleep. It was 9pm and he wasn’t crying and was falling asleep. This was too good to be true. I put him in his bassinet. And he slept. And slept. And slept.

I Can Get Used to This

From that day on, we bathed and massaged him every night. He began to expect it. When I’d lay him down on the fluffy blanket to undress him, he’d kick his legs out in excitement. His thrill reminded me of how our dog Chester gets when we grab the leash for a walk.

He’s six months today, and the routine is our blessing. We both look forward to it now. For me, it signals my wind down time approaching. For him, it signals bedtime. He doesn’t fight it, he actually looks forward to it (obviously this may change when he’s a toddler and may protest bedtime, so I’m enjoying this while I can). As I walk into his room he cradles his little head into my neck, already getting sleepy.

Although some moms might disagree with my method, I rock him to sleep. It’s my favorite time of the day. We’re both so relaxed and just gaze into each other’s eyes until he starts to drift off. When I put him in the crib, I kiss his little forehead. He usually wakes up, smiles, turns his head and goes to sleep. It’s such a special little moment for me.

I’ve learned that babies thrive with a routine. They like to know what’s going to happen next. And that makes sense. We all like to have some idea of how our day will play out as adults, don’t we? Why would a little baby be any different?

Sometimes the routine is thrown out the window, like during the holidays when there’s visiting and celebrating going on, but he falls right back into it once things settle down.

What are your bedtime routines? Any techniques you’d like to share?

6 comments on “How Our Bedtime Routine Came About

  1. thebostonmom
    February 4, 2013

    Love this post. It reminds me of when my guys when they were little tiny.. Glad you found a routine that works for you 🙂

  2. Crystal
    February 4, 2013

    We do the same thing here, lol….now that she 9 mths though she is a little difficult sometimes keeping still during massage time. Love your post Cris….Jacob has awesome parents and he is super adorable

    • Cristina Cole
      February 4, 2013

      Thanks Crystal 🙂 And Jacob gets squirmy during massage time too. I think it’s starting to tickle him hehe!

  3. motherhoodisanart
    February 4, 2013

    Awww…love those times with the little babies! I miss those days! Even when they get older they still thrive on a routine. The routines change as they get older but none the less they are much more receptive to bedtime when everything is the same each night!

    • cristinacole23
      February 4, 2013

      Glad to know routines still work when they’re older!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

