Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

Sometimes I Miss the Corporate World


Ever have those moments when you wish you were back at work? I’m currently on maternity leave and sometimes I’d kill to put on a nice suit, grab a coffee and be back in the working world for a day.

It’s not that I want to be away from Jacob, far from it. It’s just that I miss getting up, showering, styling my hair, putting make up on, and getting dressed in clothes that aren’t track pants and a robe with hardened spit up on it.

I also miss the lunch break. That hour that I have to myself to leave the building, grab some lunch and read a book or the paper. What else do I miss? Talking to co-workers. It would be nice to have an adult conversation without using my Elmo voice.

As quick as this wish floats into my head though, it disappears. I love being home with my little monkey. And on the days I wish I had styled hair, makeup and a nice outfit on – well, I’ll style my hair, put some makeup on and pull on my favorite jeans. Then Jacob and I will go out together for a little while – even if it’s to the mall.

Even though Jacob can’t talk yet, he compliments me on my hair. He’ll see my tresses framing my face and squeal with glee as he reaches his hands out to feel them. He’ll examine my face for a few seconds with bright, curious eyes and smile at me. Is this mom? It looks like her, but a little less tired and a little more alive. It is her! Hi mommy!! Come closer I want to touch your hair.

When maternity leave ends in July, it’ll be bittersweet. I’ll miss being home with my monkey all day. Thankfully however, I’ll only be working part time so I won’t be away from him long. And on the bright side, I’ll be able to enjoy the best of both worlds.

2 comments on “Sometimes I Miss the Corporate World

  1. Shackled and Crowned
    February 8, 2013

    Awwww. How sweet. Your lil man sounds like the perfect coffee date. Who else squeals with glee when you make a mommy face?
    Perfect memories, you’re creating….for yourself, of course. Nonetheless, still utterly important.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

