Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

The Opposite of a Love Poem


Here’s the opposite of a love poem for those not celebrating Valentine’s Day. It’s something I wrote when I was in the “bad relationship” I discussed in Roads.

rocking chair

Life Will Be Different

The moon is full
The crickets sing
The wind flirts with the trees
I rock in this chair
And wallow in despair
With thoughts of you and me

You slumber inside
Your snore is loud
Your breath of booze is sharp
I think if the hate
For your drunken state
And want to rip you apart

You’re selfish and cunning
Manipulative and mean
The greatest liar I know
And over time I see
That you’re not right for me
And my resentment continues to grow

When I decide to leave
You will promise me things
And shed tears of disbelief
But I will be strong
And only move on
To the life that waits for me

And the next time I watch the moon
Hear the crickets sing
And listen to the wind dance in trees
I’ll sway in this chair
Feel the breeze in my hair
And enjoy the life I live for me

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Cristina Cole

Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/criminalintent/5235848024/

3 comments on “The Opposite of a Love Poem

  1. Shackled and Crowned
    February 14, 2013

    Sounds like a woman, after her Alanon meeting. Sadly enough, I saw much of this resentment. Mostly when they told me to run. Run away from this newly sober monster. Things don’t get better in early recovery.
    I begrudgingly took these strangers’ advice. Lots of hard work to get over a strong love…out of “the blue”.

    • cristinacole23
      February 14, 2013

      I actually stuck it out through the drugs and drinking…and recovery. But I could never fully trust him again and the resentment never subsided. I just couldn’t forgive him. So I left. 🙂 Happiest day of my life…before meeting and marrying Andrew, of course!

      • Shackled and Crowned
        February 14, 2013

        🙂
        Incredible.
        So glad I see you, the light, at the end of this tunnel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2013 by in Poems and tagged , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

