Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

5 Things that Don’t Gross Me Out Since Becoming a Mom


nose

  1. Boogers – If I ever saw a booger hanging out of an unknowing nose, I’d start dry heaving on the spot. Since Jacob’s been born, boogers no longer bother me. Instead, I’m amazed at how many types there are and the size that can come out of a baby’s nose.
  2. Poop – Andrew’s always been in charge of cleaning the backyard after a long winter of Chester, our dog, going to the bathroom out there. The sight and smell would send me running inside like a bee was chasing me. Obviously this is something I had to overcome since having a baby. But for some reason it wasn’t hard. It came naturally – it’s like my senses are immune to some of the bombs Jacob takes. Sorry for the graphics, I know most mommy followers won’t even flinch when reading this though 😉
  3. Gunk in the sink drain – This has been something that’s grossed me out a long time. Seeing bits of food in the sink drain. I’d be scared to pick it up and empty its contents into the compost. Now I do it without even thinking about it.
  4. Spiders – Before Jacob, if I saw a spider I’d be frozen. I’d be scared to take my eyes off it in case it crawled away when I wasn’t looking and then I’d have no idea where it was. I’d holler for Andrew…who knew by the sound of my voice that it was spider-killing time and would show up with a paper towel to do the job. Today, if Jacob’s around and a spider is nearby I get protective rather than scared. I don’t use a paper towel though, that’s way too close for me. First I try drowning it in Raid, then if it’s still alive I’ll try smashing it with the hard-bristled broom, and if it’s STILL twitching its little legs, I suck it up with the vacuum.
  5. Vomit – This one’s up there with the poop. When you have a baby, there’s a lot of vomit involved so it’s something I’ve just gotten used to. Thankfully, spit up is what’s groomed me for vomit. It’s like vomit’s baby sister – smaller, less annoying and easier to clean.
2 comments on “5 Things that Don’t Gross Me Out Since Becoming a Mom

  1. Jesse
    May 6, 2013

    Haha! Yeah, the No. 2 (nicely numbered, by the way) is surprisingly easy to get used to…although when they get to a certain age and it’s time to move on from diapers and they stubbornly refuse to………it gets old pretty quick!

  2. Anka
    May 6, 2013

    Yep, poop and vomit don’t scare me a bit! But, when it comes to spiders, I still freeze up. I don’t know what is about those eight legged creatures that scare me so much? You’d think a diaper full of poop would be a lot worse.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2013 by in Funny Stuff and tagged , , , , , , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

