Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

Some Say I’m Ignorant for Believing in God


ID-10031092

I’ve been given a sharper sight. Life has become simplistic. Stresses have shrunk away, becoming dust bunnies under the fridge. Since handing over my worries to God, and asking him to take the lead, I feel more peaceful.

Some people will say this is neglectful, ignorant, crazy… Giving up control is like letting someone else steer my car while I’m still in the driver’s seat with my foot on the gas. It’s a valid argument for someone who’s scared of not having any control. That used to be me. I’d obsessively worry about what would happen next, preparing myself for change and obstacles. I always had a plan B, C, D… It was exhausting.

I’ve been told by some people that I’ve been changing. That I’m less “nervous”, not quick to defend my thoughts like before, more peaceful, more at ease with life and its curve balls. I am. All these things are true.

As I’m writing this, I’m thinking of the people I know who’ve told me that they think the idea of God is a joke. I can hear them questioning me. What made you believe in him? Did you hit your head? Were your brainwashed? Why are you buying into this stuff? I can hear them pushing me to defend my choices and beliefs.

Who am I hurting by believing in God? Am I offending non-believers? Because it seems that way when I tell them that I love God, and I love being his servant. What’s so bad about wanting to be good? What’s so bad about believing that I’m loved, that I was born for a reason, that I have a purpose, that after this life, something amazing is waiting for me?

Someone once said to me “Well, what if when you die there’s nothing? What if you spent your whole life believing and then it’s all a lie?” Instead of answering with “I’m 100% certain that heaven exists and there is a place for me in it.” I said the logical thing: “If there is no heaven, and there’s only blackness then what difference will it make? I won’t know any better because I’m dead. It’s like being asleep. Do you miss being awake when you’re asleep? And if there is nothing after this (which I believe in my heart isn’t true), I don’t believe I’ve wasted my life being a servant. I will have spent my life gaining joy from having faith, doing what I can to help others in life, and sharing this joy with my Christian family. Is that so bad?”

Maybe. Maybe for non-believers this seems ludicrous. Maybe they think I’ve lost my mind. That’s okay with me. I don’t feel the need to defend my choices. I won’t cut you out of my life either if you challenge me. I’ll do what makes you even more upset, I’ll pray for you 😉

Photo Credithttp://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/Death_g408-Door_In_The_Sky_p31092.html

9 comments on “Some Say I’m Ignorant for Believing in God

  1. Anka
    May 13, 2013

    I applaud you for professing your love for God. In my experience, these declarations have often been met with hostility. But, at the end of the day, I choose to live for an audience of one.

  2. Kimberlee monaco
    May 13, 2013

    I think this was beautifully said. I really enjoyed this piece. I’ve heard many debates on this subject and I think the only answer is your own. God is amazing that’s my 10 cents worth.

  3. Jesse
    May 13, 2013

    Maybe I flatter myself, but I’d like to think I’m one of those people you imagine challenging you? 🙂

    But while I wholeheartedly believe that IDEAS are fair game for challenge, skepticism…even ridicule…I don’t think PEOPLE are. I ain’t got nothin’ but love for ya!

    …that said, if you ever find yourself questioning your faith, I’d be happy to push you to the dark side! 😉

    • cristinacole23
      May 13, 2013

      Haha! Of course you come to my mind when I think of my faith being challenged, Jesse! But I also know that you’re not mean and repect me 🙂

  4. Verity Benner
    May 14, 2013

    Love it!!!

  5. mandy
    July 4, 2013

    I am so afraid for us to have a coffee date.. we will never leave the table..lol… I have been told people come into our lives to help us learn… I know you are now in ours as the most wonderful friend…xzoxo

    • cristinacole23
      July 4, 2013

      Haha! I agree we’d finally be kicked out by employees at some point. And I think you’re right about people coming into our lives to help us learn. I think we are each other’s “convincing proofs” 😉

Leave a Reply

Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

