Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

Note to Self: Don’t Wear SPANX While Out for a Walk


richard simmons

Thankfully I’m back to my pre-pregnancy weight. But that doesn’t mean I’m back to my pre-pregnancy body. Things have just kind of shifted. I’m okay with that. I’m trying to tone things up by going for a lot of walks, and when I can fit it in, doing pilates.

But while I’m trying to tighten things up, SPANX and I have become buddies. I love that they smooth things over. Muffin top? Sure I’d have one in a pair of jeans, but SPANX is like a magic eraser that eliminates it. I don’t self-consciously tug at my shirt, pull up my pants or wear baggy shirts to hide my flaws. I’ve invested in something that instantly trims inches so I feel better in my clothes.

With that said, I don’t recommend wearing them all the time. Yesterday I decided to take Jacob to the park before dinner. The fresh air makes him sleep so soundly. I had my SPANX on, but was in too much of a hurry to go and change. So off I went into the humid afternoon wearing SPANX, skinny jeans and a white tee.

Not even halfway down the street and I was feeling pretty hot – not the feeling-good-about-my-appearance hot – more like cooking-from-the-inside-out hot. I kept going and ignored the sizzling heat.

I was so thankful when a cool breeze wafted by me that I began walking a bit faster without realizing it, trying to feel more of a breeze by moving faster. Bad move, it only made me sweat more.

By the time I was trudging back up on the slow incline of my street, I felt sweaty, sticky and gross. My SPANX were doing their job, giving me a smooth appearance, but they were also clinging to me like saran wrap to a plastic bowl. What was I thinking?

That’s just it. I wasn’t thinking. Next time, I’m going to take the 45 seconds needed to change into something more comfortable for a walk!

3 comments on “Note to Self: Don’t Wear SPANX While Out for a Walk

  1. LindaGHill
    May 30, 2013

    Duly noted. Thanks for the advice 🙂

  2. Kimberlee monaco
    May 30, 2013

    Haha good advise

  3. Sharon
    May 30, 2013

    Too funny!!! I’m sure they weren’t so easy to peel off either!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in Funny Stuff and tagged , , , , , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

