Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

The Annoying Habit that Drives My Husband Crazy


side table

Photo Credit: Thehouseofsmiths.com

 

My husband will tell you that he thinks I’m the best wife and mother, that he adores me. But if you ask him about my talent at leaving books, journals, notepads, pens and pencils around, his head might explode. It’s the one thing I know drives him absolutely insane. I’ve tried working on it, but I can’t stop.

As a writer, I often get bitten by the creative bug. I’m filled with absolute panic when I can’t find a pen to jot my idea down and get it out of my head and onto paper before it turns to dust. So naturally I make sure they’re available even at the expense of my husband’s sanity.

Our home is pretty organized and tidy even with an eleven month old crawling around (I’m not superwoman, I just have a great husband who helps me keep on top of what can turn into crazy clutter). But scattered on side tables, the kitchen table, the dining room table, the countertop, the fireplace mantel, and any other object with a flat surface are a few books, pens, notepads and journals.

I’m currently in the middle of reading six books. I love reading. But I also like different genres including autobiographies, thrillers, Christian literature, and psychology. Throughout my day when I have fifteen minutes to myself I like to read, but my mood also changes throughout the day so I like having a few options.

I also have a few different journals. I write my day to day stuff in one, prayers to God in another, and quotes from books I’m reading in yet another one. I like having them accessible for when I read something inspiring, need to vent, have a prayer request or want to offer thanksgiving. So we have the problem with journals and books explained.

I tell Andrew that “I’ll try working on this annoying habit” but I don’t see how I can. I mean, I could create a drawer where I store all my go-to books, but the pens and pencils? I need to have them near me. I’m struck with ideas for blog posts, poems, and my journals all day long…in every place of the house…yes, even the bathroom…where I have a pencil.

What should I do? Sew together a fanny pack pencil case and wear it like a belt all day long? I love my husband, but this is one annoying habit I think he just might have to live with.

2 comments on “The Annoying Habit that Drives My Husband Crazy

  1. committedgifts
    August 22, 2013

    I think you’re onto something with the fanny pack/pencil case. Or tease your hair so you can stick lots of pencils in there, like some crazed creative geisha.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2013 by in Funny Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

