Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

Back to Work!


back to work

I went back to work last week. It felt good to put on a pair of dress pants, instead of sweats. And the adult conversation was so refreshing. The best part about my setup is I’ve only gone back for part-time hours so I can still spend my days with Jacob. I work a full eight hours on Saturdays, so they have become “Dadurdays” for Jacob and Andrew which is really nice. A whole day for the two of them to bond and have fun together.

The only thing I’m finding tough is getting ready for my Thursday and Friday shifts. I have to make sure whatever activities Jacob and I enjoy end early enough to be home, give him some lunch and put him down for a nap so that I can get ready. I can’t help but think about single parents who work full time and how they get through their days. I don’t know how they do it, they’re superheros in my eyes.

I also think about working moms in general. Having to get themselves and their children ready in the morning. Dropping them off at daycare (which is so expensive it’s crazy) or school. How they make it to work on time and looking fresh every day is beyond me. I guess if I had to do it I could. But because I’m having a bit of a tough time with my easy schedule it makes me think about how strong these women are.

One other thing that’s on my mind is how good I have it here in Canada. I’ve had a whole YEAR off to be able to spend with my son. In the U.S. moms only get three months! That’s so hard. You and baby are still just getting to know each other at that stage and then you have to leave them. And for breastfeeding moms, they have to deal with either weaning their little one off at such a young age or pump while they’re at work. It makes me realize how lucky I am to be a parent in this country. We get a lot of support and encouragement to spend as much time with our infants as we can. Hopefully one day the U.S. will go the same route for mothers.

2 comments on “Back to Work!

  1. Nara Satti
    July 15, 2013

    I am single parent to soon go back to work full time and it is crazy, I have no idea how I will do it. But is like you said, if you have to do it than you have to do it. Im from Brazil and there we have between 4 and 6 months maternity leave which is great! In the US though most of my friends went back to work at 8 or 10 weeks which is unacceptable to me. I have been lucky that my baby is 11 months now. But I am a bit scared of what is to come.

    • cristinacole23
      July 15, 2013

      Hi Nara, thanks for your comment. I’m glad you were able to spend more time with your little one. And I’m blown away by your strength as a single parent. It isn’t easy, but you’re doing what you have to do and trying your best. I hope your transition back to work goes smoothly and that you slip into a routine with ease. You’re doing great and showing other single moms that it’s hard but somehow you get through it. As for your friends, it’s so sad that they had to go back to work so early. Not only are they leaving their little ones that are still so young, but they themselves are still recovering from child birth and sleep deprivation. I wish them the best under their tough circumstances. Good luck on returing to work!!

      Cris

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

