Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

Wait a Second…What? Some Nursery Rhymes are Questionable


I was reading Jacob some nursery rhymes from this book:

nursey rhyme book

Seems cute right? It’s filled with staples like the Incy Wincy Spider and Little Bo-Peep. And it even has some favourites like The Cat and the Fiddle.

Now, I remember singing some of these rhymes as a child and never questioning the words. For example, Rock-a-Bye Baby: “When the bough breaks the cradle will fall, and down will come baby, cradle and all.” Hmmmm. I have since changed the words to: “And Mom will catch baby, cradle and all.” Maybe I’ll resort back to the original story on future camping trips when I want to scare the kids.

Then I came across some even more weird ones. Like The Old Woman Who Lived in a Shoe. Again, I remember hearing this story numerous times as a kid, but today, this is my reaction to it:

shocked
In case you haven’t read the original nursery rhyme, let me refresh your memory. Here is how it is written in this particular book:

There was an old woman
Who lived in a shoe
She had so many children
She didn’t know what to do.
She gave them some broth
Without any bread;
She whipped them all soundly
And put them to bed.

How heart-warming right? Perfect story for the kid who resists bedtime. Obviously a lot of old children’s literature was written to help teach kids about manners and behaving. I get that. But it still shocks me as I read it out loud to Jacob. My voice starts off very animated and perky, but by the time I’m reading “without any bread” I’m slowing down, my voice becomes more hushed, and I find myself not wanting to finish because I can sense what’s coming…the whipping!

Then there’s Ladybird, Ladybird; about a ladybug:

Ladybird, ladybird,
Fly away home,
Your house is on fire and
Your children are gone,
All except one
And that’s little Ann,
For she crept under
The frying pan.

What? What? WHAT? I have no words. Just this other face:

dissappointment

6 comments on “Wait a Second…What? Some Nursery Rhymes are Questionable

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster
    February 8, 2014

    Oh, my. See, if you’d asked me three minutes ago if I remembered these, I’d have said yes. But the truth would have been . . . I remember the first couple of lines. o.O

    • cristinacole23
      February 8, 2014

      Haha! I felt the same way when purchasing the book: “Aaaawwww gonna share the nursey rhymes I grew up with, with my son.” NOT!!

  2. Sister Madly
    February 8, 2014

    This reminds me of the first time I heard someone say, “Where in the rhyme does it say that Humpty Dumpty was an egg?”

    • cristinacole23
      February 9, 2014

      Oh my! I haven’t thought of that…but he is an egg! Right?!?!

  3. CGsaysstuff
    May 12, 2015

    My mother got my daughter an anthology of nursery rhymes. We have about five such books, but the rhymes in this one are weird versions of the ones I’m familiar with:
    Rub-a-dub-dub,
    Three men in a tub,
    And how do you think they got there?
    The butcher, the baker,
    The candlestick maker,
    They all jumped out of a rotten potato,
    Twas enough to make a man stare.

    Seriously. This is what the book says. What’s this potato business??

    • cristinacole23
      May 12, 2015

      Hahahahaaaaa! That’s GREAT! It’s so weird how these nursery rhymes made it through many filters before being published and NO ONE said: “Wait a sec, what??”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2014 by in Funny Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

