Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

NOW I Get It!


moms

Photo source

There were a couple of things people would say to me over and over again during my pregnancy and after Jacob was born. At first, I took these phrases with a grain of salt and shrugged them off. But soon, I preferred to shovel a spoonful of salt into my mouth rather than hear yet another piece of advice.

Enjoy your sleep now!

I was so sleep deprived from discomfort. I had to accommodate this massive watermelon at my midriff, get up to pee three times, prop myself up to avoid acid reflux, and it was always so darn hot! My blood would boil when people would tell me to stock up on sleep.

And of course, just a few days after Jacob was born I understood what they all meant. Waking up because of my own discomfort seemed like a luxury compared to waking up to the shrieking cry of Jacob…who needed me, no matter how run down I was.

Enjoy these moments, they fly by.

I refer to the first month of being a new mother as “The Dark Days.” I was exhausted, terrified, lost and desperate. And Jacob pretty much cried the whole first month. Of course, when visitors would come by he was a sleeping angel. So as they held my sleeping son, they’d tell me how precious this first little while was. I’d nod and smile, but really I was wishing he was in college already. I was too tired to understand how today, right now, I would give anything for those tender moments with him as a newborn.

Now that he’s walking running he doesn’t want to cuddle. He is never still and quiet; content to be in my arms. I totally get it now. So when he does feel affectionate, I drop whatever I am doing and run to him.

What are some of the things people say to you that drive you bonkers?

One comment on “NOW I Get It!

  1. Sally
    February 25, 2014

    This is so true. You don’t realize what it actually means to be a mom till you become one! Theory is so much easier and simpler than actual practise >.<

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2014 by in Funny Stuff, Mommy Tips and tagged , , , , , , , .
Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

