Stay Sane Mommies

"The worst feature of a new baby is its mother's singing." — Kin Hubbard

I Hate You, Parenting Articles


parentiung

I read parenting advice from all different perspectives. And with each paragraph I read I shake my head and realize I’ve been doing it all wrong. At the end of the article I’m convinced that one of my children may turn out to be a serial killer. Who knows, maybe both will.

Why are there so many methods? How do I know which one will work?I believe that  all these different theories were written by people who think their own parents did it wrong. After years of trying to fix themselves they believe they’ve come up with the right way to raise a child.

I want to know how their children turned out…or better yet if they even have children. And if their children did happen to turn out to be brain surgeons or violinists or CEO’s of big companies – I’d like to know what these successful people really feel about their childhoods and how their parents raised them. I wonder if they gave me the password to their computer if I’d find a file with 52 pages of a book they’re writing about parenting and how to do it right.

I hate how these articles make me feel. I hate that I’ll always feel inadequate even when I’m doing an okay job. I hate that I question everything:

  • Did that three-day potty training week from hell scar him?
  • Is he going to marry a bitchy woman because I yell at least twice a day and he’ll find bitchy women to be comforting and familiar?
  • Will he develop a tick when he sees blueberries because of that morning we had a power struggle over eating two more blueberries before he was allowed to leave the table?
  • Will he be behind in kindergarten because he’s home with me and not in daycare like many other toddlers? He can only count to 14 and not 31, maybe I should put him in preschool twice a week.
  • Will he develop OCD because I try to pick those boogers out of his nose every chance I get?
  • If I ignore this tantrum right now will he grow up to be resentful and angry because I’m not validating his feelings?

No matter what I do I’m questioning myself, doubting every decision I make. And as if my own fears aren’t enough I read parenting articles that confirm them. The articles make it official – I’m doing it wrong. Well guess what parenting articles?

 

cat

Have a nice day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Decoding Happyness

Because Happ'y'ness depends on 'Y'ou ! Let's decode the little things that bring happiness amidst this life full of care :)

An Honest Mom

From the hip on mindfulness, parenting, feminism and homesteading.

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Don't Wait To Advocate

Advocating for people with Cerebral Palsy and other disabilities

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Never Trust a Jellyfish

Life, Laughs, Toddlers and Tea

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

80,000 words

One word at a time

johnny be bald

or... Tales of a 30 year old Nothing.

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

bowlingwithed

thoughts from a bearded lawyer

My name is Lynzee.

Mother. Photographer. Taylor Swift enthusiast. "Words can break someone into a million pieces, but they can also put them back together. I hope you use yours for good." - TSwift

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Jackie

living an authentic life

Mixed spice

A Blogfull of Tales

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

